Baby Bib

A lovely lady in my knitting group sent me this pattern for a Baby Bib. It is knit like a dishcloth with a neck strap added. I used velcro instead of buttons. The pattern is called “Grandmother’s Favorite Baby Bib”. I used the Sugar & Creme Stripes cotton yarn.

It is a free pattern – here.
Photobucket
I have copied it from her blog site to here for convenience sake or you can click link above and go to Merin’s site. 

Grandmother’s Favorite Baby Bib
Pattern (c) 2007 Merin McManus
~2 oz. worsted cotton yarn (Sugar ‘n Cream, Peaches ‘n Cream, Lion Cotton)
US #7 8 or 9 needles
3/4″ button
Gauge is not crucial
Pattern inspired by Grandmother’s Favorite Washcloth and Simple Baby Bib.

Cast on 4 stitches.
Row 1: Knit
Row 2: K2, YO, *K*
Repeat row 2 until you have 44 stitches.
K1, K2tog, YO, K2tog, *K*
Repeat this row until you have 25 stitches.
Bind off 20 stitches, 5 stitches left.
Knit every row of these 5 stitches until the strap is 7-8″ long.
Buttonhole row: K2, YO, K2tog, K1
Knit next 5 rows.
Repeat buttonhole row.
Knit next 5 rows.
Repeat buttonhole row.
Knit next 5 rows.
Bind off. Sew button.

4 responses to “Baby Bib

  1. I’ll be making a few of those bibs.

  2. I love the velcro idea–my next bib will definately use that instead of the buttons!
    I hope to see you Wednesday!
    Linda

  3. Love the bib. I made a couple of similar ones last year. I’d been making washclothes and decided they would make great bibs, so I just added a 2 straps to one side and I had some cute bibs. But I love this idea stopping short on completing the washcloth and adding straps to the ended side. Really great. I will have to make one sometime. Seems like there’s babies everywhere these days needing bibs. 🙂

    • Glad you are going to try it!. I am expecting a new grand daughter any day now, so I will be making some while I’m helping to babysit. Not really feeling like it right now, my dad died last Sat. – still kinda blue. Let me know how they turn out for you. I will be adding to my blog when things settle down around here – I’ll add the one I will be making. Someone did a dishcloth that has “burp” knit on it…that would be cute. Linda

Leave a Reply

